So You Want To Be a Dog Trainer

So You Want To Be a Dog Trainer

There are plenty of options out there for online or DVD dog training courses. Knowing what you are getting is important because there are currently no guidelines for who can offer you certification to hang on your wall declaring you a dog trainer. And more importantly is there are no guidelines for the content of the information you will be receiving. 

The Academy for Dog Trainers is headed by Jean Donaldson. You may be familiar with her books; Dogs Are From Neptune, OH BEHAVE: From Pavlov to Premack, MINE: A Practical Guide to Resource Guarding, FIGHT!, The Culture Clash, and others. Her course provides a variety of media formats for learning including; DVD’s, books and other printed resources, weekly webinars, and 24/7 chat groups. The information is based on the science of animal behavior and learning and years of experience working hands-on with thousands of dogs in and out of the shelter setting.  

If you are looking to become not just a good dog trainer, but a great dog trainer, make sure you are starting with a solid foundation in modern training methods and up-to-date information on dogs and behavior. When you achieve certification from the Academy you can feel proud and confident that you are making decisions for your clients based on accurate and humane practices for behavior modification. 

*Disclaimer: I received a scholarship from The Academy to participate in a course. I was not asked to write this post, nor did I ever feel as though I was expected to. 

8 comments so far

  1. kirbysdawgblog on

    I actually was thinking of being a dog trainer,maybe oneday, more of a hobby then anything. Great review!

    • Debbie Jacobs on

      Even hobbyist can be excellent at what they do.

  2. Dez on

    I am just starting out on my journey to becoming a dog trainer and looking into different courses and I will definitely check this one out! I love Jean and her methods! Thanks for the great post!

    • fearfuldogs on

      It’s a great course to learn all the fundamentals of training and behavior.

  3. Sherron on

    Thanks for the info! I was aware of Karen Pryor’s Academy, but I did not know Jean Donaldson had one, as well.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Jean’s is online. KPA has trainers in different areas running courses.

  4. Yolanda Rawles on

    Once I wanted to become a dog trainer, but life took me with its waves, and I forgot about it. I followed some traininf courses and I read books about methods of training. Dogs Are From Neptune was among the first that have fallen into my hands. I still remember about the common training errors like reinforcement and punishment, and that case with a tibetan terrier which became very aggressive after a training with a shock collar. Sad!

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks for reading and your comment. I hope you are enjoying being a trainer.


Leave a Reply

