Ready, set, rescue!

small dog in a cageRecently I ruffled some feathers on an online forum. It was not my intention and I usually try to stay out of most of the networking site forums because they are often too upsetting, but something moved me and I posted a comment. The original posting was about a 15 year old girl who had started a rescue group. It was an upbeat, ‘isn’t this heart-warming’ post and I could not shake the not so heart warming reaction I was having. Had I realized that the girl was a member of the forum and would read my comment I probably would not have written a thing, but that’s history now.

I tried, apparently without success, to express my unease with celebrating an animal rescue headed by a 15 year old, while supporting her intentions and motivations. I strayed from the ‘You go girl!’ response and the hits started coming. I was the grumpy lady who needed to worry more about people who weren’t doing something to help homeless animals, and not about the ones who were. I was wrong to assume that a 15 year old would not have the skills or abilities to do a good job rescuing animals. I was the naysayer trying to squash the hopes and dreams of a motivated, caring, young human. I felt like Scrooge in December.

I gave it a couple more shots at trying to explain myself, and then excused myself from the room, but I was surprised. The forum was specifically about animal rescue and I found it difficult to imagine that no one else shared my concern that good intentioned as anyone may be, animal rescue is a complicated and challenging task, and as bright and conscientious as this young woman might be, at 15 how much could or should we expect from her?

I am not naive, nor so far removed from reality that I expect animal behaviorists and professional trainers to be starting animal rescues in droves, but I do believe that animals deserve that level of skill and expertise when it comes to determining their future. Their lives depend on it. The belief that all they need is ‘time and love’ is so far off the mark for many of them that I cringe when I hear someone involved in rescue say it. That sentiment is naive and removed from reality.

The attitude of many seems to be that not only can anyone who grew up with a dog and having watched a few seasons of the The Dog Whisperer be a dog trainer, anyone can start an animal rescue. Even barring the hoarders and dog traffickers involved in rescue, there is no shortage of well intentioned people who cause extreme suffering to the animals in their care. The fact that it’s unintentional is beside the point. The impact of a ‘bad’ placement extends beyond the immediate dog and family. I have lost count of the people who have told me they will never adopt a dog again because of bad experiences with dogs who needed more than time and love.

At this point the best I can do is wish this young woman good luck in her endeavor, the dogs are going to need at least that, and more.

43 comments so far

  1. royalcoonhounds on

    Wow. That is all I can say. I was an adult, living on my own, with over a decade more experience than a 15 year old and was overwhelmed with my one rescue with ‘issues’.

    Ugh.

    • fearfuldogs on

      I’m not sure if I was ever able to get my point across. I ended up feeling like a heel, picking on some poor kid who was only trying to do something good.

  2. Ashley on

    Oh dear. I was heavily involved in coordinating adoptions for a rescue for a year and a half and I burnt out FAST at only 23. I can’t imagine how long a 15 year old will last…plus how will she get dogs to vet appointments without a license and presumably being in school all day plus homework? How will she PAY for it? How will she complete home visits without either putting herself in danger or losing all of her credibility when a parent tags along?! I’m sure I’m just echoing your concerns that you tried to communicate….those encouraging her are not being constructive – just delusional.

    • fearfuldogs on

      She does have a support network of adults helping her, but the point of the article was how wonderful it was that a 15 year old had started a rescue group. I actually hadn’t thought of the points you make, I was primarily thinking about the startling lack of ability for many people involved in rescue to make good choices for dogs, never mind a teenager, as mature as they may be.

      Also, I’d guess that most people who end up adopting a dog that isn’t a good match rarely send the dog back to the original rescue group, even if they agreed to do so. Some dogs may be kept and people do what they can, others end up in a shelter or passed on to another home. The people responsible for making the placement do not have to deal with the consequences of their actions.

  3. Jim Stay on

    Debbie, A lot of dogs and cats would die waiting for professionals to rescue them. Almost all rescue is done by people (almost all women) with no professional credentials or training.

    Rescue, like most real work, is as the old saying goes “ten percent inspiration and ninety percent perspiration”. Perhaps you could consider a different way of approaching this. Find a professional trainer in her area who would donate two hours a week to teaching the girl to train. You could also provide a valuable service by explaining why she should not start with fearful dogs, and introducing some of the concepts you and I learned from our mistakes.

    Not only this brave young lady, but almost every rescue would benefit greatly if professional trainers decide to offer a few hours of training to those of us who shovel the poop, wash the bowls, do the laundry and share our homes with shelter animals.

    • Debbie Jacobs on

      Again I fear my point is being missed. My response was not meant for or about this individual in particular but rather the knee jerk response of people that every effort to save animals should automatically be cheered. I am not unaware of the situation homeless animals face, and understand I should be happy anyone is doing anything.

      I was not asked to get involved, nor would I presume to do so. I created the fearfuldogs.com website (and maintain it at my own expense) to help people, especially rescuers understand fear based behaviors.

      I was involved in rehoming dogs for years. I stopped because I could no longer trust that the dogs I would be receiving for placement were temperamentally sound enough to be good pets. I could not in good conscience adopt them out, nor was I prepared to keep them. I realize this leave many dogs SOL, and means someone else has to step up to the plate. I am happy when someone does, but it doesn’t change my belief that it requires more than just good intentions and perspiration to do justice to the process of placing dogs in new homes. My hat is off to people who do it well, even if it means making hard and not necessarily pleasant decisions regarding the dogs in their care.

  4. honeysjourney on

    I too wish this young woman lots of luck and hope she can handle the disappointment that WILL manifest itself at some point, I wasn’t.

    As a volunteer at a local animal shelter who works with hard to place, fearful dogs I know what disappointment and heartache is about. Having just spent 6 weeks and many hours with what I determined to be a sweet albeit scared mix breed young female dog and having it turn out awful for her may be the hardest part of rescue work. There aren’t enough professional trainers in the entire world who could have helped this poor girl. At first contact, there she was hunkered down in the corner of a kennel, shaking and in total fear. We, the kennel staff and I, really worked with this, soon to be good girl getting her to move from scared, shaking to climbing into anyone’s lap covering them with licks and big time happy tail wags. Stella Isabella was recently adopted and by all reports was doing just great. The success was sort lived however. I re-found Stella Isabella back at the shelter in a holding, bite quarantine section, cowering and shaking in the corner of the kennel, just as I first met her. Apparently, at least according to all the reports, the couple who had adopted her got into some sort of major fight and she bit one of them bad enough for a hospital visit. So there she sits waiting for the quarantine time to end and will most likely never see the light of day, be petted or smell the smells that are so interesting to the dog world. Sadness and disappointment raises it’s ugly head from time to time so therein I hope some adults have told her of that fact.

    It just happened to be lunch time for the shelter staff so I was alone in that terrible room and going against kennel policy, opened her kennel went in and sat with her as she climbed in my lap all happy waiting for a treat and walk that can’t happen, damn it hurts sometimes.

    • fearfuldogs on

      I am so sorry to hear this George. The sad reality is that many of these dogs require the kind of care and attention that few are able to provide, and I mean no insult to anybody when I say that. Hopefully there are many more happy endings than there are sad ones.

    • KellyK on

      That’s awful, and I’m really sorry you had to go through that. I guess you can take some solace in the fact that she had a few good, happy weeks or months, which is more than she would’ve gotten if you hand’t worked with her. Not that it’s much consolation. Again, I’m really sorry to hear about it, and you’re right that anyone working with animals needs to be prepared for that kind of heartache.

    • KellyK on

      Maybe this is me misunderstanding the situation, but if this “major fight” meant that one person was hitting or hurting the other, it seems criminally unfair to punish the dog for trying to protect one of its people.

      • honeysjourney on

        It was between the so called adults, but you know bite laws.

  5. KellyK on

    I think that it’s reasonable to want people who start a rescue to be realistic and informed about what’s needed.

    I do think it’s heartwarming that a 15-year-old wants to start a rescue and has the support of a bunch of adults. But the kindness of the intent doesn’t replace skills or knowledge. I hope that she has enough information and skills to do a good job of it, but your reservations do make sense.

    In one sense, it is true that time and love is all that’s needed, but it’s time and love properly directed—time to learn everything you can about dog behavior and training and socialization, as well as figuring out how many animals you can realistically care for, and enough love for animals to learn a whole lot of patience. And sometimes, all the time and love *and* knowledge and skill in the world isn’t enough, like George’s story.

    I think there’s the same grey area with people who want to start rescues or volunteer at a shelter as with people who want to adopt. There needs to be recognition of the time, skills, and effort required. So it is a really good thing to try to educate people about what’s required, but at the same time to try not to set the bar too high. Unfortunately, when people are all psyched about a new idea, any attempt to caution them or point out what’s needed can be seen as dumping a bucket of cold water on their dreams.

  6. Julie B on

    You know, I kind of feel bad for her (the girl). Looking back to when I was 15… I grew up on a farm, we raised and ate our own poultry and my father is a hunter. From a very early age, I knew the realities of life, I remember as young as 5 helping with butchering. But not until I was in my mid 20’s did I start getting into animal rescue. Holy Cow! Even growing up knowing what I know about the food industry etc. I was shocked and appalled but what we (humans) do to companion animals. Seeing litters of dead frozen puppies, adult dogs 45/50# underweight, covered in mange, managing to survive being hit by a car and shot in the head, dogs tied to fence posts with rope growing into their skin and other dogs being allowed to attack it at will. This is not stuff I wish upon a 15 year old. I really, really hope she has a great support system through her family. It’s going to be a very hard journey.
    Not to mention the liabilities that could be placed on her.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Reality checks can be rough, that’s for sure.

  7. Kelly Spring on

    Debbie,

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I don’t think people realize how much some dogs suffer when they are placed inappropriately. It’s an incredibly difficult subject to discuss rationally. We all want to see “throw-away” dogs get a second chance, but the reality is rescue (unintentionally) takes some dogs out of the frying pan and throws them into the fire.

    I was deeply involved in rescue for a number of years and now I am a trainer who works with a lot of fearful dogs. I see both sides and I don’t have an answer. But, I wish we could all discuss the issue more openly — without making anyone feel like a heel. We are all on the same side. We just have different perspectives to share.

    • fearfuldogs on

      So true Kelly and the fire is often a long slow painful burn that the dog suffers through for years before they die or are killed.

  8. megan on

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I struggle with this daily as I encounter droves of people who have little to no knowledge or experience in managing/training basic behaviors, let alone handle the behavioral problems that some rescue dogs come with.

    Don’t get me wrong, we all have to start somewhere. I got my first dog at 24, who happened to be a fearful dog, and I had no clue what I was doing. So I forced myself to learn. I got a trainer when I realized it wasn’t as simple as a little time and love. And later, I found out that the person who did my dog’s adoption expected her to come back within a few days — they had no confidence in me, as a new dog owner, to handle a fearful dog with a myriad of issues. I proved them wrong, sure, but that’s not how it typically works out with a fearful dog and an adopter who doesn’t know what they’re getting into. Dogs like that are typically returned, when they don’t bond, or worse yet, when they bite. Or, they wind up getting loose and never being found, etc. The possibilities are endless.

    And now, I’m a volunteer with that same rescue group I got my dog from. And the number of dogs that are returned for behavioral problems is overwhelming. And to me, this is a primary example of what happens when inexperienced people attempt to place dogs in homes or train them (inexperienced is not necessarily quantified by age, in this instance). Now it’s 2 years after I adopted my fearful dog and I know more about behavior than a significant amount of people I interact with daily — people who are placing dogs in homes regularly, people who are fostering and training dogs with behavioral problems that they have no business handling.

    Don’t get me wrong, I realize that if it weren’t for a lot of these (myself included) involved in rescue or getting involved in rescue when they’re inexperienced (myself included), we’d have no one to do rescue to begin with. But, that doesn’t mean I can’t worry. It doesn’t mean I don’t worry.

    My significant other tells me I’m a cynic. But, when I think about it, it’s more “ignorance is bliss” thing. Debbie, you know what happens when dogs are in the wrong hands, however well-intentioned they are. So do I, and so do many people in rescue. That’s why we don’t jump for joy when we hear about these types of things, regardless of how heartwarming they may be — because we know that even if they wind up doing some good, if they don’t get the proper education and training, and the proper trainers, veterinarians, etc. involved, they can wind up doing a lot more harm than good.

    • fearfuldogs on

      You said it Megan, ignorance is bliss, for the rescuer. Oh how good it feels to be ‘saving’ dogs.

  9. fearfuldogs on

    Thanks to everyone for sharing your thoughts. I’d hate to be thought of as someone who just put other people down for not doing things the way I think they should be done. I think we all can do something to make the world a better place, we have to find what moves us and act on it. I also think that there is a crisis brewing in the rescue community that needs to be addressed.

  10. didiwright on

    People very often don’t say what they really think, for fear that the others might gang up on them. That’s what I’ve learnt on forums, and I tend to only visit them occassionally nowadays, rather than spend hours sharing my opinion. But well done you for speaking your mind. Having read your posts and knowing how you write, I’m sure your comment was not malitious in any way, if people had taken the time to read it properly before they got offended by your ‘opposition’. I, too, share your worries about the age of that girl. Having only visited a dog rescue centre twice, I have observed and learnt enough to know that rehoming dogs with a turbulent past requires a lot of experience, understanding and training. Which you cannot have at 15, even if you’re a genius. Unless there will be a team of the right people rallying behind her…

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks Didi. I’m not sure where the conversation has gone on that forum since I opted out of updates. There was so much consoling of the girl going on because of my comments that I snuck out the back door.

  11. Jim Stay on

    “I also think that there is a crisis brewing in the rescue community that needs to be addressed.”

    I’ve been thinking about that sentence since I read it, and I don’t know what crisis is brewing. I hope that’s you next blog entry.

    Debbie, I have never seen a destructive post from you. Now and then I disagree with your position, but you always give me reason to rethink the issue. Thanks for what you do.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks Jim, appreciate your comment. Perhaps the crisis is already here. Here in the northeast we are seeing more and more messed up dogs, and not to suggest that all dogs being transported from southern kill shelters are not adoptable, it reminds me of what went on when Castro had a brief ‘amnesty’ and let people leave Cuba. Many those he allowed to leave were in his prisons, and while some were political prisoners, others were criminals. They came to the States. He appeared briefly benevolent and at the same time got rid of many of his problems at the same time.

      I should probably be careful using this example because I am not that well informed about the event, but no offense meant to Cubans and I will gladly stand corrected on my interpretation of it.

      The problem is not just with rescue dogs either. Breeders, even supposedly ‘good’ breeders, have a lot to answer for in regard to the socialization and exposure they give their puppies. Knowing the sensitive periods of development in puppies (and they should have this information) they are negligent IMO for not providing a pup with a myriad of experiences during their first 8 weeks. But many do not. Or else the dogs are being bred for conformation and not temperament. Or the dogs have congenital health problems that affect how the dog feels and subsequently can perform and learn.

      It affects R+ trainers also. Some of these dogs are so damaged that the process of training or rehabbing requires more time and attention than owners realize. They are happy to give R+ training a try but when they don’t see progress fast enough, they assume the method is at fault and seek out alternative methods that may look like they are working (it’s not that difficult to ‘make’ a dog do something) but in fact are not providing the dog with enough skills to be safe or comfortable.

      My heart goes out to dogs languishing in shelters anywhere. It breaks when I see a dog so frightened and shut down that its misery is palpable. And in a perfect world all dogs would get a fighting chance at having a good life. But as it stands now many people are choosing dogs off of websites and trusting that the person(s) who have handled the dog the most up to that point have the ability to accurately assess the dog’s temperament and potential. And so far it seems that most don’t. When someone tosses their hat into the rescue ring and their resume consists primarily of ‘loving and caring about dogs’ it does not make me hopeful. It does keep trainers’ phones ringing but they’re calls I’d certainly be happier not to get.

      That said, there are people doing bang up jobs of finding adoptable dogs and getting them ready to have great lives in the right home. When someone is looking for a dog I point them in their direction.

      • Peg Munves on

        I agree that the crisis is already here. Considering how fear is still perceived as aggression by many trainers and owners, so many rescue dogs just don’t stand a chance, even when they make it into a household.

      • fearfuldogs on

        What is frustrating is the information regarding how brains work is out there. Fear, anxiety AND aggression are all associated with the amygdala, so it is not a leap to assume they are connected in some way. We may have to wait for the 22nd century to get pet owners into the 21st.

      • Peg Munves on

        Deb writes “Fear, anxiety AND aggression are all associated with the amygdala, so it is not a leap to assume they are connected in some way.” Sure – that’s the science. I think we are driving at the same point though – If you look at the dog reacting, and dog’s reactions in the situation, it’s usually very clear that the dog is fearful and not being aggressive. This is the point I am getting at – reading dog’s communications is still SO terribly misunderstood. The new Bradshaw book looks promising.

  12. Erica Kahunanui on

    I understand your point; there is a huge difference between good intentions and successful implementations. In my post about 5 Breed Types to Avoid if Your Lazy, I got some flack for listing the pit bull on that list. One reader took it as an automatic death sentence for the dogs, as though I was condemning the breed by suggesting lazy owners need not apply. From my viewpoint, an uneducated, unmotivated pit bull owner is a disaster waiting to happen.
    Thanks for voicing your opinion on this matter. It’s an amazing thing that this 15 year old girl had the motivation to start a rescue. Hopefully, she matures into a well-seasoned rescue vet with lots of experience under her belt. Right now, however, that’s a lot of responsibility (and lives!) resting on the shoulders of a teen.

    • KellyK on

      Can you link to that entry? I think you’re totally right about pit bulls being a bad breed for lazy owners, on reputation alone, because not training or socializing the dog can lead to bites or aggression. An aggressive golden retriever is an isolated problem; an aggressive pit bull feeds anti-pit sentiment and breed-specific legislation. And that’s before even considering temperament or breed characteristics.

    • melfr99 on

      Erica – I completely agree with your assessment of an uneducated and unmotivated person’s ownership of a pitbull. It is a disaster in the making. I think that the breed has suffered enough at the hands of people like that. I would prefer they get the very best owners – ones who will take the time to train them and work with them. I’ve seen way too many pitbulls in the hands of the ignorant (including one in my dog’s training class) and I fear that their maligned reputation will continue until people start to pressure owners to take owning them as seriously as they do in buying a house. It’s a commitment that requires your time and energy and hard work.

  13. Jim Stay on

    I certainly agree that there is a problem with rescue dogs having behavioral issues. The problem will become much worse as shelters are getting on the “no-kill” program.

    We can’t expect rescuers to become certified trainers, because if they do, they will then do training and get paid for it. But we should be able to to define some basic standards and have simple training. In fact it probably needs two levels of training, one for basic rescue, and an additional class/test for people taking “special needs” dogs.

    One big problem is assessment, both coming from the shelter into rescue and also when they are leaving rescue. I do an assessment at the shelter, but 24 hours later I have a different dog. Going from a 6×20 foot run to a yard with grass and a real house changes the dog. Then after they are here for 2 weeks I can’t assess them because they know and trust me.

    How do we get some organization to start a program of rescue certification ? It could start as simple as a one day class. I would be glad to be a test case for what a southern rescuer needs to know when rescuing dogs to go north.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Suzanne Clothier is doing some interesting stuff on assessing dogs that goes beyond just ‘temperament testing’ but looks at the continuum of traits that dogs exhibit and getting a better overall picture of the dog. Being ‘afraid’ or ‘fearful’ is a catch-all phrase for a myriad of other traits like a lack of resiliency, social tolerance and low biddability, for example. Some stuff we are not likely to be able to change and that’s what we need to be clear on. Any dog can be tested, whether you know them for an hour or 2 years- with only minor variations in response in either case. We can bring in a stranger if we need to easy enough.

      I think that having a certification that rescues could brandish couldn’t hurt if it meant they had to demonstrate some level of education or understanding about behavior and development. But since it would require time and money, I’m not hopeful that it would ever fly.

      • megan on

        Time and money aren’t the only factors – there’s also the issue of the lack of standardized training methods used amongst trainers, rescuers, and dog owners. Many rescues let fosters or volunteers at their kennel/shelter handle behavior in whatever way they see fit, regardless of the dog’s behavior or motivation for the behavior. It’s easier that way, and some people have been doing “training” one way for so long, they have a difficult time believing that something else will work, so they choose not to learn anything new (or blatantly ignore it because what has worked for them in some instances must work for every dog in every situation).

        Before rescues can be certified, or trained, even, I think there is a lot more work to do in the training community, where we set forth a standard for training and behavior modification, rather than allow the free-for-all dog training that goes on now.

        People are so hung up on dominance and force training, rescuers included. I’ve seen rescuers recommend alpha-rolling 8-week-old puppies for play biting, mouthing, and nipping with no regard for the development of a soft mouth or normal puppy and dog development. I’ve seen an untrained, adolescent German Shepherd hung by his leash because he “was rolling in his collar to get away because he knows it works” and “he knows just how to get over on you so he doesn’t have to face the consequences of his actions.” I’ve seen 20-year trainers write off clicker training completely, saying it’s a load of bull. Another experienced trainer described a dog’s behavior as “dominant fearful” (whatever that means?). These are trainers that help rescues, offer training classes for free, etc. Rescues depend on these people to help them with their severely problematic dogs and they keep using them because they “must know what they’re doing.”

        I know there are people working towards this and I’m not in any way suggesting that people aren’t trying to do this, but I think that’s a hurdle that needs to be taken before we can attempt to work on training or certifying rescues or rescuers.

  14. fearfuldogs on

    poco a poco la hormiga se come el coco.

    bit by bit the ant eats the coconut.

  15. honeysjourney on

    Never doubt that a small group of concerned citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.
    Margaret Mead

  16. Rosemary on

    I’d say there was (at least to some extent), a problem with anyone suddenly deciding to open another rescue rather than helping run one that already exists.

    Unless you’re starting up somewhere in the 3rd world most people could do far more good volunteering to help at their local shelter than setting up yet another organisation.

    If you think the local shelter has bad/wrong policies, then find out who decides policy and work to change it. Stand for election if they have a board that recruits that way.

    Having said that I have to admit that we would struggle to use the services of a keen 15-year old because legal restrictions on potentially putting under-16s in harm’s way (dealing with the public, handling dogs) are so tough over here.

    • KellyK on

      I think that’s a really good point. Starting an organization is likely to duplicate effort that another group’s already doing.

  17. fearfuldogs on

    You bring up some interesting points Rosemary.

  18. melfr99 on

    I agree with your points, and many other’s comments, here Debbie. It’s nice to applaud a 15 year old wanting to help, but what qualifications, experience, knowledge, etc. does she have at age 15 that will help her to successfully rescue and re-home dogs? It’s not the fat that she is 15 that I am as concerned – heck I’ve seen 15 years olds start their own companies! But, the fact that just anyone can start a rescue is not good enough in my eyes.

    I will never forget seeing a woman who did Rottie “rescue” drive up to our shelter to pick up a Rottie who would be going to foster with her until it found it’s new home. Her car was filled to the brim with what looked like bags and trash and “stuff”. I remember thinking that this woman just might be a hoarder and not a rescuer at all. Still haunts me to this day. Did that Rottie get rescued or is he living with a hoarder? Was the car just full that day because she had been picking up supplies? I will likely never know, but it is a good example of why just starting a rescue is not enough – whether you are 15 years old or not. We shouldn’t be applauding just because she decided to start a rescue. We should be applauding if she actually re-homes dogs successfully with the help of trainers and foster parents who have worked with the dogs to give them a better chance to have a forever home.

    George – I am so sorry about the dog you mentioned in your post. I have seen situations like this too and it haunts e every time. 😦

  19. Jim Stay on

    Those are all valid points, but the question that remains unanswered ( and not even discussed ) is how we improve the situation ? There are answers, but they require time, money and dedication on the part of those who know how to do rescue. You won’t get good training at most county shelters, because they don’t know how to rescue either. Some of the “no-kill” shelters are very good, but a person wanting to learn can’t tell the good ones from the bad.

    • fearfuldogs on

      I think the way to improve it is the same way we improve anything-education. Unfortunately we now have a very simplistic and often counter productive philosophy of handling dogs being peddled by nat geo and Cesar millan. But his time is passing. It’s hard to change cultural perceptions of animals but it happens. I’ve seen big changes in puerto Rico where groups of committed people made changes. Is it 100%? nope. Probably never will be but I believe our consciousness can evolve. That’s why I felt bad about appearing to knock efforts of a kid- we want to foster & support her sensibilities.

  20. Donna and the Dogs on

    That’s a really tough one, and thought provoking. I’m not sure which way I feel, honestly, but I do have to say, you spoke with your heart and that is more than a lot of people do on dog forums. Good for you for speaking up for what you believe in!!

  21. JIm Mitchell on

    The local pound has kennel care staff that work for minimum wage. They’re dumb, they’re lazy, and they don’t care about animals.

    Could she do worse?

    • fearfuldogs on

      Why is just doing better than bad where we set the bar?


Leave a Reply

