Be the change!

cartoon televison

Does your town have a local cable or community access channel? If so you may be able to produce films for it! I created a short film about Daphne a dog that has spent too much time at our local shelter. She needs a home and this happy and clever dog deserves to be seen!

Here’s Daphne’s video which will be airing in Brattleboro, Vermont and surrounding towns.

These video shorts also make great additions to a shelter’s website. They’re easy and fun to make, and may change an animal’s life.

11 comments so far

  1. Pup Fan on

    Smart idea and great way to spread the word… our local shelter does a weekly TV show featuring pets for adoption.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks! There used to be someone who regularly went to the shelter and filmed animals but they stopped. I’ve heard from people in the community that they really liked it. I’m planning on making a couple a month for them. It’s so easy with the cameras and computer programs we have today.

  2. Roxanne @ Champion of My Heart on

    That’s a great idea. Hilary and I collaborated on a video a while back and did a social media blitz. We don’t know for sure if we made a difference, but the dog did get adopted that week … after months of languishing at the shelter.

    • fearfuldogs on

      These vids really are easy to make and I was surprised at how happy the TV station was to get this one. They wanted more!

  3. Deborah Flick on

    Great idea! Now I just have to learn how to edit videos.

    • fearfuldogs on

      You’ve got a mac don’t you? I use the old iMovie program for editing since I haven’t bothered to learn the new program, but it’s fine for my purposes.

  4. Donna on

    The shelter I volunteer at puts videos on Youtube. They also have a Facebook account where they link to the videos.

    • fearfuldogs on

      That’s a great idea-starting a Facebook page for a shelter. I bet there are plenty that would love to have one but don’t have the time to deal with it.

  5. Mary Haight on

    Wonderful way to help shelter dogs, Debbie, and I bet most cable access stations are hungry for content like that, but I’m with you on the editing – that’s a bridge that’s pretty far from my focus at this time:) And FB can often be that “one more thing” that your local shelter doesn’t have the time to set up, but would find time to post the animals. Nice job!

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks Mary! When I returned from New Orleans in 2005 I made an 18 minute video about Camp Katrina and Sunny and along with a documentary about the storms ‘Dark Water Rising’ had a fundraiser at a local movie theater, for our shelter. The possibilities are endless! And I’m not all that skilled in video production.

  6. Amy@GoPetFriendly on

    Fantastic idea, Debbie! And, thank you for participating in Blog the Change!!


Leave a Reply

