Funny dog pictures, unless you’re the dog

I have a sense of humor, really I do. I think those pictures of puppies in hotdog buns, chewing on shoe laces and snoozing belly up are cute, I do, really. But amidst the funny and cute are images which make me cringe. This is the latest one, sandwiched amidst the funny and cute-

puppy being dragged into the ocean

Cute? Not so much. Funny? How so? Is watching a puppy being dragged somewhere against their will funny? Could someone explain this to me?

Or as bad, the human on the other end of the leash hasn’t even given a thought to what this pup is experiencing.

Hopefully it didn’t end up being a big deal for the pup, but that’s not even the point, the point is that enough people think that this image belongs amidst the funny and the cute.

And then there’s this gem-

child holding a dog's mouth shut

Put the camera down dad and get little Susie out of there. And thank the dog as you walk away for suffering your negligence in allowing a toddler to handle a chained dog in this way.

I’ll take puppies in flower pots any day over these.

41 comments so far

  1. Greta on

    The first picture is pathetic, and the second one is absolutely terrifying.

    • fearfuldogs on

      I’d say pathetic and terrifying sum them up nicely.

  2. Pamela on

    Wow, you’re so right. These are terrible.

    It’s easy to forget when you live in dog blog land that many people are absolutely ignorant of a dog’s emotions or desires.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Ah if only the rest of the world was like dog blog land ;-)

  3. Susan on

    not funny! not cute!

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks for reading and commenting Susan. Love the name of your company.

  4. Roo on

    I know, right? I feel like such a killjoy on FB when I have to speak up every time someone posts a “cute” video of a kid seconds away from a nasty bite and/or a terrified dog.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Or how about the ‘funny’ vids of little dogs snarling at the camera? Geesh.

      • Lisa Kilgore Giroux on

        those are the ones that always get me. Or on America’s Funniest Home videos–they’ve had several where small dogs are getting bathed and snarling/nipping/etc.

      • fearfuldogs on

        Yes. Youtube is full of them. People think little dogs ‘acting tough’ are funny. Too bad.

  5. Donna and the Dogs on

    How awful. You found those on a funny photo site? (shakes head sadly)

    • fearfuldogs on

      These were both included in collections of images that were sent to me via email. They were meant to make me smile. So much for that aye.

  6. Roxanne @ Champion of My Heart on

    Oooph. That just makes me sad.

  7. Deborah Flick on

    These photos make se sick to my stomach. They are decidedly not cute. Interesting the context in which they were sent to you—photos to make you smile. Grimace, maybe. Smile? Not so much.

  8. Lorie Huston on

    Neither cute nor funny. That kid could easily be just seconds away from serious injury. And that poor puppy being dragged across the sand. I don’t see the humor either.

  9. Ettel E on

    Argh. I know. There have actually been some blogs I’ve stopped following because they posted similarly “funny” and “cute” photos/videos that made my skin crawl.

    And don’t get me started on “Planet’s Funniest Animals.” Someone shared a video that showed an obviously fearful, terrified dog entering a backyard with a pool and then fall into the pool as it was focused and creeping away from something else. Really not funny.

  10. Jana Rade on

    I think the worst part is that people actually have no clue what they’re doing and how the dog is feeling. We need to learn to understand dog language once for all.

  11. Hilary on

    I’m looking at these at 1:30am–I’m sure to have bad dreams. The first pup looks like he’s wearing a choke chain, too. The second reminds me of the paperwork I read when I adopted Frisbee: the owners had chained him outside his whole life (he was 13 weeks when I got him) and said he snapped at their kids and dogs who would come near him. This picture shows the dog tied to a doghouse and being tormented by a kid without a way to escape. Frisbee turned out to be afraid of kids and other dogs, and thus aggressive towards them.

    Sorry to be so long-winded, but… these are upsetting. Thanks for sharing a dose of reality in the world of (un)funny pictures.

  12. Martina Annelie on

    Down right disgusting!
    No, I don’t believe that the key to stop this suffering would be to understand dog language better.
    Peole need to listen with their hearts and accept the fact that dogs are sentinent beings just like we are.
    The most important thing would be to stop being so self centered to put their own interests first.
    Dogs and horses are being treated like toys or pleasure machines, created to give man a jolly good time…and when they don’t they will be taught to by all those professionals who have not got a clue and who couldn’t care less for the soul of an animal.
    A friend, who is a hunter told me this: Two hunters meet and they talk about life after death. So one says: “Surely, we’ll get to heaven” The Other one remarks:”We sure will, unless GOD is a stag”.
    Or a dog for that matter.
    warmly from Germany! Martina Annelie

  13. Kristine on

    That first photo reminds me of a scene I watched in real life. Last summer at the lake just a few blocks from our house, a woman was dragging her poor dog into the water with pride, bragging about what a great swimmer he was. “Look!” She said. “He’s never swam before, but look at him go!”

    Yes, look at him race back to dry land as fast as possible.

    That last photo is just horrifying. That is one tolerant dog. I am so glad he didn’t bite the toddler because that may have meant a fast trip to the shelter. Perhaps worse.

  14. veryvizsla on

    The first pic – Good luck getting that Cocker Spaniel back into the water when it is a full grown adult. Way to scar a dog for life! Jersey was scared of the water and it took me almost two years to get her to fetch a stick from the water. I never forced her, I let her do it on her own time and now I can’t get her out of the water:D

    The Second Pic – That kid is luck it didn’t get a bite!

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thing about the pic with the kid is that we don’t know what happens a year or two down the road. Hopefully the tolerance level was never pushed beyond the dog’s ability.

  15. Sarah @AnxiousDogs on

    I wish that teachers taught ‘dog language’ and how to properly interact with dogs in grade school. They take kids to the zoo to see elephants and monkeys but never once talk about how to respectfully deal with dogs and other pets that kids and adults encounter on a daily basis. I’m sorry to say this but even most people who own dogs don’t really understand their body language which can be dangerous(second pic) and stressful for the dogs(first pic). Thanks again for the great blog and spreading the word!

    • fearfuldogs on

      The thing about dogs is that so many of their responses associated with emotions like fear, anger, worry, are familiar to us. A worried dog looks a lot like a worried human. None of us needed to be told that the pup being dragged toward the ocean didn’t want to go. The cause of many of their reactions are obvious, it’s that we often don’t even consider that they matter. IMHO anyway.

      • Lizzie on

        You are so right Debbie.

        I think that a lot of owners put a lead around their dogs’ neck and hey presto it’ll do want they want it to do, whether or not they care if it actually wants to do what they want it to do, or indeed if it knows how to. I see people dragging puppies by their necks all the time, and owners of mature dogs who have never been taught how to behave on a lead when they were puppies.

        Again it’s this attitude of dominace and disrespect of their pets feelings and needs.

        Many European countries have a general disregard for dogs welfare and the second photo here looks like the child is indeed Eastern European, where dogs are chained outside and not generally kept as pets. It just sickens me to see a dog chained up.

  16. JR on

    That dog looks scared out of his mind! Still a little puppy!

  17. didiwright on

    I have just found your blog and I think it’s wonderful and very informative. Your knowledge of dog’s behaviour and psychology is obviously vast and I’ll definitely be coming back to pick your brains :)
    Unfortunately, I’ve seen those images before in real life. Not all the time, thank God, but once is one too many times. I have a phobia of choking collars and leads anyway, I don’t think I’d like to wear one so why should a dog like it? On this basis, my dog always wears a harness when he needs to be on the lead, the collar is only for legal purposes (name tag, etc.). Since he is a sighthound,when he was a puppy I tried walking him by attaching the lead to his hound collar “like you’re supposed to”. He hated it. I then tried a harness and he took to it instantly, really enjoying the freedom of movement it gave him. I think forcing a puppy to do ANYTHING against their will rather than teach him what you’re expecting from him is sure to cause problems in the future.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and comment. My fearful dog also wore a harness early on because it did seem to be easier for him.

  18. It is amazing and scary how clueless people are.

    One of your commenters made the point that sometimes we forget how clueless people are since we spend so much time talking to “dog people.” It’s so true! When I told a friend that I walked my dogs at least an hour a day she was shocked because when she had dogs when she was a kid they just left them in the backyard. Amazing how much educating needs to be done.

  19. georgia little pea on

    Very unfunny pictures indeed :(

    Away from dogblog land, I’ve always wondered about the things (us) humans find funny. Take a look at that long running series – funniest home videos – why would anyone find vids of other people (and animals) going bump, splat and ouch FUNNY? I would imagine that if you saw some person/animal smacking into a wall in real life, you’d be rushing over to see if he/it was okay. But somehow, when it’s on a vid, it becomes something to laugh at.

    Go figure.

    • fearfuldogs on

      I’m sure animal behaviorists and human psychologists could give us an explanation of why seeing others experience what we believe is non-life threatening physical harm, is funny. I don’t think it could have all started with the Keystone Cops.

  20. melfr99 on

    I so agree with Greta on this one. Both are awful and not cute in my opinion, but the 2nd one is absolutely frightening.

  21. Pitbull video on

    I agree with you, at first it looks cute but when you see it from the puppies view then it’s terrifying.

  22. Donna on

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and really like what you have to say. I’d like to ask your advice regarding shelter situations. I volunteer as a dog walker at a local shelter. While most of the dogs welcome a chance to get outside, exercise and get some fresh air, some dogs want no part of it.Every so often I get a dog that just doesn’t want to go outside, but I really want to coax them so they don’t have to poop/pee in their kennel. Some dogs are fine once they get out the door, some aren’t, but there are a few I’ve dragged, and felt bad about it. Is it better to just leave them to soil up their kennel? I hate forcing them, but I also hate leaving them to poop in their kennel. The staff is great about cleaning, but there are sometimes enough dogs that a dog who poops is going to have it in there for a while.

    • fearfuldogs on

      It all depends on the dog. A dog that is fine once they are outside probably is ok with a bit of coaxing. A dog that is very scared may begin to become unhappy about seeing people come near them (oh no I’m going to be dragged out to the scary place!) or resist being leashed for the same reason. While being around poop is offensive to us and certainly not hygienic for anyone, dogs are often happy to roll in it and eat it, so it may be the lesser of two evils for a dog. It can become an issue later if a dog is going to be difficult to house train, but the shelter setting is not necessarily a great place for doing that anyway. I’d be more concerned about how any in-shelter handling affects a dog’s potential for adoption. If seeing people means being made to go into a scary situation which the dog cannot cope with, that is going to affect how the dog responds to people. So it depends on the individual dog and their response once they have been made to do something.

  23. Fallah on

    Now that we have a reactive dog and I know more about dog body language, I can’t stop seeing awful things like this that once would have made me smile. Not the first one, of course. Dragging an animal is never ok. But the second one, with the toddler? I would have thought that was cute. And while I never hugged a new/strange dog, I used to pet them on the head or reach over to scratch their ears. Now I let them approach me, and if they seem relaxed, I crouch down and offer a chest scratch or a hip, butt scrach first (but I’m careful not to lean/loom over them).

    Reminds me of a video post on Facebook by a dog-related group that I typically love (not going to smear them) where the spokesperson was petting and goofing around with a chained bloodhound. When he stood up & walked away, the dog bit him on the butt. Guy thought it was hilarious and later commented that he knew the dog well. Thankfully a lot of people chimed in with comments that it was clear that the dog was uncomfortable being hugged (was lip-licking and giving wall-eyes) and the bite-from-behind is a fear reaction. Unfortunately there were just as many comments telling people to ‘lighten up’.

    • fearfuldogs on

      Often it isn’t until we experience something ourselves that we fully comprehend the complexities of the situation.

  24. Martin Wong on

    I really have learned a great deal from reading your blog! keep on going! I am looking forward to reading even more!

  25. Paula on

    these definately go under WHAT NOT TO DO. i hate to see little puppies dragged down the street and am constantly telling kids not to run up to my dogs and how to do this properly and i have to educate some adults as well. i started a kids korner on my blog for this reason. we need to teach our children proper pet care and renew the love for animals than many have lost.

    • Debbie Jacobs on

      Yes, I hate seeing any dog dragged. Great that you are contributing to the cause to help people understand dogs better.

      • Paula on

        :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,586 other followers

